Bio-geographical provinces of Finland

The Bio-geographical provinces are internally homogeneous biogeographical regions of Finland. The number of regions is 21. The regions were spatially defined by an expert committee in 1930 as collections of municipalities. Consequently, the province boundaries follow the delineation of of municipalities in the 1930's including some enclaves, exclaves, and narrow stripes as the province boundaries have not been changed or updated since then excluding the cession of territory after the Second World War. All regions have names and abbreviations in Finnish, Swedish, and Latin. No other attribute data is available.


Mer information

Collection Öppna data
Original dataset Link to harvested dataset
Ansvarig Ulkoinen lähde: Paikkatietohakemisto
Den ansvarigas e-post
Last modified 01.02.2023
Visa ändringslogg
Created on 30.12.2008

Give feedback

comments powered by Disqus